Tuesday, June 12, 2007

Cheli & The Awards

The Red Wings re-signed 45-year-old defenseman Chris Chelios to a one-year contract Tuesday. By the end of next season, he'll be 46 years old and by the way he looked this season, especially toward the end, he'll continue to be a great Defenseman for our team. After Kronwall went down with a broken sacrum, Cheli stepped up his time on the ice and was fantastic in doing so. I'm glad he'll be back.

Also, we should know this week sometime if Hasek will be back. Knowing him, he'll "retire" again and want to come back after next season only to fuck up the goalie we get for next season ala Curtis Joseph. Emery and Giguere are both free agents this summer... And we in Detroit do need our goalies to fight... However - with Wah (Roy) no longer playing... i suppose it doesn't matter as much.

The Awards Ceremony is Thursday night on Versus. The Awards are:

Presidents' Trophy: Best Overall Record
Winner: Buffalo Sabres

Prince of Wales Trophy: Eastern Conference Champion
Winner: Ottawa Senators

Clarence S. Campbell Bowl: Western Conference Champion
Winner: Anaheim Ducks

Art Ross Trophy: Top Point Scorer in the NHL
Winner: Sidney Crosby

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy: Qualities of Perseverance and Sportsmanship
2006 Winner: Teemu Selanne - Anaheim Ducks

Calder Memorial Trophy: Rookie of the Year
Finalists: Evgeni Malkin - Penguins; Jordan Staal - Penguins; Paul Stastny - Avalanche.

Conn Smythe Trophy: Most Valuable Player in the Stanley Cup Playoffs
Winner: Scott Neidermayer

Frank J. Selke Trophy: Top Defensive Forward in the NHL
Finalists: Rod Brind'Amour - Hurricanes; Samuel Pahlsson - Ducks; Jay Pandolfo - Devils.

Hart Memorial Trophy: NHL Most Valuable Player
Finalists: Martin Brodeur - Devils; Sidney Crosby - Penguins; Roberto Luongo - Canucks.

Jack Adams Award: Coach of the Year
Finalists: Lindy Ruff - Sabres; Michel Therrien - Penguins; Alain Vigneault - Canucks.

James Norris Memorial Trophy: Top Defenseman in the NHL
Finalists: Nicklas Lidstrom - Red Wings; Scott Niedermayer - Ducks; Chris Pronger - Ducks.

King Clancy Memorial Trophy: Leadership and Humanitarian Contribution
2006 Winner: Olaf Kolzig - Washington Capitals

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy: Player who Displays Gentlemanly Conduct
Finalists: Pavel Datsyuk - Red Wings; Joe Sakic - Avalanche; Martin St. Louis - Lightning.

Lester B. Pearson Award: Most Outstanding Player as Selected by the NHLPA
Finalists: Sidney Crosby - Penguins; Vincent Lecavalier - Lightning; Roberto Luongo - Canucks.

Lester Patrick Trophy: Outstanding Service to Hockey in the United States
2006 Winners: Steve Yzerman, Gordon "Red" Berenson, Reed Larson, Glen Sonmor, Marcel Dionne

Maurice Richard Trophy: Top Goal Scorer in the NHL
Winner: Vincent LeClavalier - Tampa Bay Lightning

Vezina Trophy: Top Goalie in the NHL
Finalists: Martin Brodeur - Devils; Miikka Kiprusoff - Flames; Henrik Lundqvist - Rangers; Roberto Luongo - Canucks

William M. Jennings Trophy: Goalie(s) With the Fewest Goals Scored Against
Winners: Niklas Backstrom and Manny Fernandez - Minnesota Wild

No comments: